Stack flasks

From molding systems to gating, what goes on at the molding bench will make or break a casting.
HT1

Stack flasks

Post by HT1 »

Flasks are the current Stumbling block for my work, Since I'm a welder by trade, I whipped these us. If you have never worked with stack flasks I will explain, they are especially designed for use with flatbacked parts. mostly plaques

Here is the drag ready for ramming. note that stack flasks have the pins pointing upwards from below

Here is the completed drag

Here you can see a cheek, you can use multiple cheeks. 4 being common. the only difference between the drag and the cheeks, is each cheek must have a sprue cut

Here is the drag and the lower cheek complete and on the deck

here is the cope ready to go on,

Here is the entire mold
I intended to make 4 sections, that is why there is no labeled cope, but I ran out of metal one piece shy

Here we have the resulting castings.

There was one neat thing that I did not think of, the heavy 1/4 inch steel flasks did not raise when being rammed, A problem I have alot, so I did not have to clamp the pattern to the flask while I rammed... Hope this helps a few of you out
barryjyoung

Re: Stack flasks

Post by barryjyoung »

Thanks for showing this technique, I have never seen that before. Don't those flasks weigh a lot being made of steel?

Barry
Harry
Site Admin

Post by Harry »

HT1, that is really cool... thanks for bringing the the things you do to this forum. You have a basis in old school that feels like it is coming from a young perspective, very refreshing.