Is there a restroom in here?

A place to say a little about yourself, who, where, what sort of thing.
barryjyoung

Is there a restroom in here?

Post by barryjyoung »

Hi there:

I came in here looking for the 3 pages of plans for the "$4 rolling wheel and plow sand muller you can build in an hour with no welder, milling machine, materials, skill, or effort" . All I found was a really great website dedicated to troublemakers like me who like to roll around in sand and make stuff I can't buy. So, now that I am here, I should do some shameless advertising.

My name is Barry Young. I teach the Machinist Program for a living because it is somewhat less stressful than robbing banks. About 4 years ago or so I got a wild hair and decided that the cameras I was making from wood really should be made from aluminum. No sweat, it couldn't take more than three weekends to make a furnace right? Then go to the beach and get some sand and make thin wall precision camera castings using a couple of old wheels for flasks right? I mean right? 4 years of grueling design, research, massive effort and agony later, now there are not one but two furnaces in my back yard. One is a crucible furnace for pouring. Problem was that wheels don't fit so well,,,sorry, so good in a #20 crucible. Damn! what to do? Make another furnace right? So we did, my friend Garrett and I were exhausted and very grumpy after making the crucible furnaces (1 for each of us) and then were immediately faced with the reality that wheels are big. So we argued and complained and said awful things to each other while building the second furnace which was designed to turn wheels into wheelium ingots which it does handily. We call it a break down furnace and it accepts up to a 22 inch aluminum wheels and turns them into easier to handle 3 pound ingots. The molding bench is a converted truck bed toolbox in shiny aluminum diamond plate. Our first casting will be in late August and will be sides for aluminum snap flasks simil