Learning in Southern Illinois

A place to say a little about yourself, who, where, what sort of thing.
Mike_C

Learning in Southern Illinois

Post by Mike_C »

Hi. I am relatively new to casting. Got started less than a year ago. I've been working on my Gingery lathe for a while now and have made quite a bit of progress. Just poured the head stock last week(for the third time because of shrink cavities). This process and the metallurgy involved is incredibly interesting to me. I started my college career as a chemisty major but changed to computer science after three years. Finished an MS in computer science 20 years ago and taught college courses at a community college for 12 years before I started working as an administrator for Southern Illinois University in Carbondale(go Salukis!). I've studied multiple foreign languages over the years and now working on a PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering. Anyway, the point is that I am interested in many things but I don't think that I have ever been as enthralled as I was the first time I melted aluminum in a two bucket furnace in my back yard and poured the feet for my lathe. I've been hooked ever since and progressed from charcoal to propane pretty quickly. Building a burner from stuff I picked up at the hardware store was another eye opening experience. I have been a wood worker for years and like to build furniture of my own designs and I can see this being a huge extension of that hobby as well. I am sure that I will probably have many questions along the way so I hope that everyone doesn't get tired of answering.
It's not a failure, it's a reason to get to do it again.
Heimo

Re: Learning in Southern Illinois

Post by Heimo »

welcome to the forum...
Mike_C

Post by Mike_C »

Thanks Heimo. I'm already leaning from this forum. Glad I ran across it today.
Nudge

Post by Nudge »

Yes, welcome to the forum.
You will need to show as some pics of your lathe. Cos we love pics. :D