New here from Utah

A place to say a little about yourself, who, where, what sort of thing.
Jeff Clark

New here from Utah

Post by Jeff Clark »

My name is Jeff Clark and I just found this site, Im new to casting very new as in I have not cast one part yet.. I have made quite a few patterns and had one of the local foundries cast my parts for me, I have now decided to cast my parts myself and found this forum looking for some of the better methods, supplies and some general info. Im in to old cars go karts and mini bikes, I have been a hobby builder and restorer for years and started making my patterns for items I needed and selling a few as well here are a couple of my patterns and parts these are clutch covers for Vintage Mini Bikes,

Pour Naked!
mite5255

Re: New here from Utah

Post by mite5255 »

Hi and welcome Jeff, those patterns and castings look fanbloodytastic

Mike
When life gets tough, remember: You were the strongest sperm :)
Harry
Site Admin

Post by Harry »

Are those patterns thermoformed plastic? They do look very nice.

You could certainly cast those yourself without much trouble.
I'd rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints the sinners are much more fun...
Muller
Jeff Clark

Post by Jeff Clark »

Thanks for the compliments on my patterns, I have made quite a few they are just glass and bondo im a bit of a bondo artist.... on the two white ones above I started with some really bad fiberglass repop covers that had shrunk in the mold and lost draft. On a side cover I can usually have one done in a few nights after work. I have a small shop I call my toy box I spend a few hours at every night after work building and fabricating things, I think the addition of doing my own foundry work will be a great addition to my parts.

Here is the very bad glass cover I used for a start point on one of the patterns.

Last edited by Jeff Clark on Tue Dec 06, 2011 10:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
Pour Naked!
Jeff Clark

Post by Jeff Clark »