Looking for someone to do some bronze casting..

Maybe someone here has that thing you have been after?
latzanimal

Looking for someone to do some bronze casting..

Post by latzanimal »

I had this posted over at BYMC, but I thought I'd see what reaction I got here....

I am a drummer and drum builder.

I have 40 or 50 lbs of broken cymbals I would like to have someone cast into a drum shell, roughly dimensioned : 14" cylinder 7" tall and about 3/16" thick. I can lathe the cast piece and would prefer to.

Anyone interested? I can post some drums I've made in the other stuff section...

Here is the link to the ad over there: http://backyardmetalcasting.com/forums/ ... php?t=5266
HT1

Re: Looking for someone to do some bronze casting..

Post by HT1 »

Here is the problem, A 14 inch OD ring 7 inches tall with a 1/2 wall will weigh 46 Lb roughly, depending on the exact composition. trim that wall down to 1/4 in you get to 22lbs tht is probably the thinnest you could cast this in a conventional manner.for a pattern you will have to find someone with a lathe that can cut a piece of 14 inch wood. then having to work with a mystery metal, scrap cymbals? that is a serious prototype job.

we are looking at 3-5 days work shipping 50 lbs of metal twice both times in oversized boxes. It's going to be expensive
dallen

Post by dallen »

found this one Wikipedia. Cymbals are made from four main alloys, all of them copper-based. These are: bell bronze, malleable bronze, brass and nickel silver.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cymbal_alloys

don't know if it will help but tells what cymbals are made from.

DA
David and Charlie aka the shop monster

If life seems normal your not going fast enough" Mario Andrette
HT1

Post by HT1 »

dallen wrote:found this one Wikipedia. Cymbals are made from four main alloys, all of them copper-based. These are: bell bronze, malleable bronze, brass and nickel silver.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cymbal_alloys