some suggestions...?

For posts that dont fit anywhere else.
Heimo

some suggestions...?

Post by Heimo »

So.... those of you who have read my intro thread, may have noticed that I am currently studying computer programming, now I am looking for some suggestions for some basic applications that this community might find handy, I am thinking along the lines of a basic unites converter or perhaps a refractory volume calculator something along those lines would be ideal... I know there are already a refractory volume calculator out there made by Adam Ziegler, but I am wanting to do this more because I could use some practice before I start to go rusty, secondly I hate creating useless apps just for practice so I would rather create something we all can use.
also I should add that I am still in the command line interface stage so all the apps I create are running out of command prompt.

So any ideas/requests anyone?
Harry
Site Admin

Re: some suggestions...?

Post by Harry »

How about air calculations. I set up a spredsheet to calculate air flow/speed through an orifice by orifice size and air pressure for cfm. Also things like how many cfm at XX psi can you get from a tank of XXX cf that is pressurized to XXX psi before it drops to XX psi (high and low cycle of your compressor).
I'd rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints the sinners are much more fun...
Muller
Heimo

Post by Heimo »

that is a excellent suggestion, but I would need to understand those calculations myself before I can start, so I am going to try and find the math on how to do those calculations then I will give it a shot...
Jim72

Post by Jim72 »

How about a shrink rule calculator for commonly casted metals, aluminum, brass, bronze? I would find that helpful. Enter the actual or desired measurement and adjust for shrink accordingly for pattern making.

Jim
Harry
Site Admin

Post by Harry »

I found this page very helpful Heimo.