Boring on a lathe

Projects other than metal casting.
wikisi

Boring on a lathe

Post by wikisi »

I'd like to cast a 6 or 7" long aluminum cylinder and then bore it till I have an ID of 2". Instead of buying a boring bar, can I make one? (I'm new to lathes, btw.)

What I was thinking off is securing the workpiece to the compound somehow. Get a piece of socker rod, drill a hole somewhere in the middle for the cutting bit (which I also want to make myself). Then drill another small hole for a set screw and grind one side of the cutting bit flat, so the cutting bit won't move when you tighten the set screw. Then put the bar in the chuck in one end and support it with the tailstock on the other end and start boring.

Would that work fine? If so, what would be a good way to secure the workpiece to the compound? There are no t-slots or holes in the compound and I'd really like to find a way to do it without having to drill in my compound because I don't have a drill press so I can't drill straight holes.

As for the cutting bit, a while back I took a printer apart and got a lot of rods that were inside. I think they're stainless. Would a stainless cutting bit be fine for cutting aluminum? Stainless workhardens easily, right? So it'll probably work harden as I grind it with the grinder which mightb e beneficial?

Anyways, I haven't really thought it through too much yet, because I thought maybe I'm above my head here due to my lack of experience with lathes. If I need something done, I can probably come up with a way to do it, but what keeps me from doing it is because I have no idea if it's safe. I guess what I'm saying is I don't know what I can get away with on a lathe, so I don't do it because you know what they say.. better safe than sorry!
davidbraley

Re: Boring on a lathe

Post by davidbraley »

Hi Wikisi,