Beer

Projects other than metal casting.
Harry
Site Admin

Beer

Post by Harry »

So I started brewing a couple of months ago. My daughters had bought me one of those 1 gallon beer kits for xMas but I didnt want to brew it until I had a temp controlled ferment place because of the swings in temps in our house.

I bought a $200 freezer from HomeDepot, an aquarium heater and a controller made by a company called Inkbird that has cool/heat outlets on it. You set the temp you want and it turns on and off whichever is needed to get towards the target temp.

Right off the bat I screwed the pooch drilling the hole for the wires in the side of the freezer and the woosh told me I just spent another $200. Once getting the new freezer I was more careful drilling the other shell then clearing by hand the hole through the insulation before drilling through. Success...

Armed with a temp controlled environment I set off on my 1 gallon brew, brewing was straightforward but lots of cleaning/sanitizing. Got the gallon of wort into the ferment bottle and put in the freezer set at 65F

and wait... and wait...

So a week or so later siphoned the no beer into bottles and added priming sugar and promptly began breaking bottles capping them. Ended up with a half gallon growler and 3 bottles to return to the fermentor to let the added sugar naturally carbonate.

And wait...

After a week had to try it, flat beer, damn. Wait another week and its great. Problem is I have just 2 bottles of beer and the 64oz growler. The growler is one of those spring lock glass bottles and apparently it did not seal as well as the capped bottles so it was flat too. Upside is that even flat was some of the bet been I have ever had (of course there's the I made it bias involved here).

It set me off though and since I have done several more 5 gallon brews and purchased ball lock corny kegs for avoiding the bottling end of things. The brews so far have been