Referance material

Linked documents or member created reference materials, good reading for when its raining.
HT1

Referance material

Post by HT1 »

Here is a reference for Gating Aluminum, steel and Cast iron. it is pretty good, but probably the best thing about it, is it lists many of the exceptions to best practice, which mostly apply to small castings, which is waht most of us are hard at

http://teacher.buet.ac.bd/bazlurrashid/ ... _guide.pdf

V/r HT1
Harry
Site Admin

Re: Referance material

Post by Harry »

There is a whole lot in those few pages. I need to read it through but skimming I saw several things I want to look into more. I do have to say though that it is very formal with the rules based path to particular results and while that is probably the way it is done in much of industry I think there is a lot of feel to real world practice especially for those of us self taught folks. Still great reading a reference, thanks.
I'd rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints the sinners are much more fun...
Muller
HT1

Post by HT1 »

Harry wrote:I think there is a lot of feel to real world practice.

When I went through Pattern maker molder Journeyman school... 20 years ago. we did several castiing design projects. we where given a blue print, and told to do all the design, determine the parting, add machining allowances, draft, then formulate and design a gating system. and draw it all out ready to go to the pattern shop. But before we actually did the math for the gating systems we all had to do a "best practice gating system, meaning with no math we designed a gating system as if the pattern shop had sent us a loose pattern with no gating system that we would have to hand cut into the sand. everytime we compaired our informal gating design with the formal design. they where always as close as foundry hand tools would allow.

What this means, is that a basic schooling in sound gating principles will mimic the formalized AFS gating formulas.